To make a difference in someone’s life, you don’t have to be brilliant…

Yesterday, after working from 7:30 a.m to 3 p.m., I put in several hours at my nonprofit organization. One of my priority items was to return a call that I received earlier in the week. A call that made the end of my week a rewarding one…

When I retrieved the voicemail message, it was from a young lady who was going through a divorce and was afraid. She was under the impression that I would be able to assist her with her dilemma. In tears the young lady shared with me how she was struggling to find an attorney and with limited funds, she had been turned away by an attorney that was not affordable to her and also passed over my Legal aid as a result of their heavy case loads. For an hour, I shared dialogue with this young woman, relating on a number of situations, and I shared resources with her and even looked up information that might assist her. She continued to share how “God places people in your life for a reason and expressed how grateful she was that I would speak with her for an hour and not charge her a fee”.

Rethinking the conversation, I began to remember how afraid I was when I went through a divorce and how lonely it was sitting on my side of the court room without someone in my corner. I told her in her moment of tears and fear that she should not be afraid of being “judged” by her support system nor the judicial system as long as she is genuine and transparent on her day in court. By the end of the conversation, she was promising me that she would reach out to her family and ask for their support and remember that God is in control and has control of the situation.

I did not leave the office until after 7 p.m. but I felt more fulfilled than tired because I made a difference in someone’s life, even if it was not directly linked to Women of Virtue Transitional Foundation Inc’s purpose, it was directly connected to the content of my heart and that is to help others. It is amazing when God shows you a clear view of what it is you are intended to do in life to serve him and your purpose.  Remember, if you have a purpose, do not suppress it because of fear of failure, what others will think, or a lack of resources. Remember God has you in the beginning and the end, and everything happens for a reason.

Have a blessed Saturday and safe Memorial Day Holiday.

 

