In the Midst of it all by Sonya McKinzie

Sitting silently,

Feeling sorry for myself,

Picking myself to pieces,

Peeling myself apart

Thinking,

Thinking,

And thinking,

What a failure,

I am.

What are my accomplishments?

Am I a disappointment?

Why am I so different?

Does anyone ever notice me?

In the midst of it all,

Never did I think in my mind,

No one person can define who and what I am,

I never thought that only God has that authority;

The authority to define who I am and make a difference;

Now, I see this situation as intended by God,

Then I think why God,

Why would you want me to endure such pain?

No matter how simple

It appears to be?

But then I think, as I often do,

Thinking,

Thinking,

Thinking,

Who am I to question God’s reasoning behind why he allowed me to endure such obstacles?

In the midst of it all,

I know that everything happens for a reason,

Only our maker knows why everything happens the way they do,

In the midst of it all,

I thank God for loving, carrying and nurturing me to be this woman of destiny.

Copyright © 2015 by Sonya McKinzie.  All rights reserved. This poem or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review

