A simple glance

Engulfs me in your trance

Once dead, broken, and lifeless

My heart relives

Revived by love

The reawakening

Of love

self-love

Love

Love

Inside, deep inside

My heart ticks

Again

The humblest things you do

Makes me feel complete and anew

Your love sends fire through my veins

Reawakening the deepest spaces inside

Traveling to areas where brokenness once resided

You loved me

Pass my pain

Through the devastation

And over the hills of desperation

Reawakening

The desire in me

To love

Feel and be touched again

Reawakening

Copyright © 2015 by Sonya McKinzie.  All rights reserved. This poem or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review

