Too Stressed, Too Long

 

It seems like forever since my last posting here and I have missed this. As you all know, poetry and blogging are two of my most prized loves however life has taken me away from them far longer than I care to admit as a result of “going through life” in its generalist terms.

My 2015 has started off like a race car on an open track. I have been challenged in every possible way. Towards the later part of 2014, my doctor and me began the journey of trying to decide why have had an endless battle with insomnia. Seems like it has been near a decade since the last time I have had more than 3 good hours of sleep.  Moving forward, my doctor ran a number of blood tests to see if we could decide exactly what has been going on with me. With a  body over-exhausted from working long hours, college courses and the graduate loads that come along with them, running after and caring for a very beautifully energetic 3 1/2 year old has taken its toll on my body and so lately it has shown signs of exhaustion. As a woman, that doesn’t know when to stop going, it has been quite difficult for me to adjust to an energy level that has not been working as fast as my mind (laughs).

Last week, I sat down with my doctor and discussed what was going on with me and the gist of it is that my adrenals have been working over time and as a result I found myself with adrenal fatigue.  The adrenals which are associated with adrenaline and cortisol in our bodies help to run and support our homeostasis which is called the “Stress home” show that I have been Too Stressed for Too Long. Fatigue, constant rest disruption, and weight gain are all results of overexertion of the adrenals.

As I sat there listening to the doctor talk to me about how we were to discuss my stress and adrenaline level, my mind flashed to the many conversations that my mother and me had about my stress level and not resting and I immediately thought about how she has warned me in the past. That said, this year I have decided that I would try to focus on things that would create a balance in my life and while it has been a slow process, I am working towards it. Now that my daughter is a little older, I am now able to do physically and socially active activities with her such as working out and attending church more regular. 

Spiritually there has been a need for fellowship with others for both me and my daughter and there is no time more perfect than the current time. And amid it all, is the opportunity to teach myself how to relax and let go of things that I have no control over.  I am challenging myself with not allowing the small details to take control over what is important which is God, family and healthy spiritual and physical well-being. This is not a resolution or goal but instead a challenge to make very necessary changes in my life. 

If you too are in this situation, I urge you to stop and take time to relax because “stress” can be your worst enemy. Don’t be in a place where it isn’t an option but a need. Lean on Bible verse  John 16.33 to guide you through a stressful day and to build a healthier you. 

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” ( John 16.33)

Always,

Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

 

 

One thought on “Too Stressed, Too Long

  1. trotter387 says:

    Matthew 6:33 and 34 – the kingdom first because the anxiety for each day still rushes in.

    Exhausted at 24, suicidal by 40, content by 50 I wish I had listened to those words much earlier as I tried hard to make the Kingdom fit in with secular pursuits.

    For those stuck in this situation ask what do I need to get through today it is what Christ taught us to pray for “give us our bread for this day” not tomorrow, next week or next month.

    So much is out of our control and sometimes we spend a lifetime struggling with something beyond us.

    Relationship repair with time, people do die tragically and others suffer and we can do nothing so focus on the simple things God first, love of neighbour and draw close to those who can really help

Comments are closed.