Love this artwork of Lauryn Hill! This artist is dope!This morning on my way to work, I was thinking about the number of obstacles that I have persistently overcome in life.  While my life stories are not the same as the next person’s, I have many testimonies to share.  I remember in July of 2003, I relocated to the Atlanta, Ga area with $2,300 to my name and no job. I made the decision to make a change in my surroundings to make some progress in life.  I was fresh out of a domestically violent relationship of 13 years and unsure of what I would endure however I was determined not to return to my hometown in South Ga because the opportunities for growth both educationally and professionally were few.

Upon relocating to Atlanta, I secured a job at an answering service that was about 30 minutes away from my apartment in Marietta, Ga. It was not a great job, but it was a job that paid fairly well in comparison to having no job at all. Approximately 3 months after securing the first job, God blessed me with another. I was able to secure a job with a great non-profit organization and was due to start it in December of 2003. I decided to keep my job at the answering service part-time, and then after several months I decided to move to Duluth, Ga to be closer to my job and opted to leave my part-time job. Shortly after that, I opted to buy a home in 2005 and obtained a part-time job at the local Kroger’s to make extra gas money on the side, not because it was necessary but because I wanted to make sure that I was financially secure after purchasing my home. After learning to keep up my bills and home, I decided to resign from my part-time job and started college.

In 2005, I started an Associate’s Degree program in Business Administration, continued on to get my Bachelor’s Degree and now I am within 4 classes of completing my Master’s Degree in Human Services Counseling with a focus in Family and Marriage. The interesting thing about all of this is I was able to complete my Bachelor’s and near completion of my Master’s Degree all while being a single mommy.  God has favored over me. He has allowed me the opportunity to self-publish a book and now I am near completion of my second. God favors and I know this because of all that has blessed me with.

Yes, I am single but that is because he hasn’t crafted me to perfection. He is working on me, flaws and all.

I am blessed, how about you? Think about the fact that you are breathing here today and loved – that alone is a blessing….

Always,

Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

