She was there: Dedicated to my mother

 

Sometimes I sit and wonder where would I be if I didn’t have my mother. It is amazing how long it took me to see her value. I suppose it is true when you are a child, you do not think of anyone else but yourself. Children tend to be selfish until they encounter the realities of life. Years ago, I used to think my mother was too stern and mean, but it took moving away from home to see that her mothering skills were in place to prepare me for what was to come. My friends used to tell me how nice my mother was but all I could see what the rare times when I would ask for something and she would say no. Interestingly enough, it was not until I reached my mid-twenties that I realized my mom was one of the best women in the world. My earth angel and hero without armor. She saved me when I could not save myself. She prayed for me when I did not have the faith inside of me. She carried me when I could not walk the road and encouraged me when I was without hope.

I spend many quiet times thinking over the countless times that my mother was there. Like when I tried to take my life because I did not understand why things were so impossible as a teen. Or when I found out I was pregnant after several doctors declared that I would have issues with fertility. She was there from the time my baby was in my womb until we reached the birthing table in my hospital room. Looking at my daughter she resembles my mother so there is no question in my mind, that my mother knows that to be so.

She was there and prayed for me. She cried for and with me, when I felt I was alone… my mother, my friend, my sister and my father all in one. My mother is and always will be my  number one fan, she has faith in even when I do not. She believes in all of my dreams and aspirations and shares with me that there is nothing that I cannot do as long as I support my belief in God and myself too.

She was there and I cannot imagine life with her presence because she is the reason for my existence.

Always,

Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

