My Child: As I watch her grow

Looking through her eyes, I wonder – What does she see? Does she see a vision of her mommy?

 The first time I looked into my daughter’s eyes, I was in love. Her entrance into the world came with a fight. She came out fighting and screaming; I recall my mom saying how feisty she was when she received her first bath next to my hospital bed. Her voice rang throughout the hospital’s hall ways and it was perfect. She had 10 perfect fingers and 10 perfect toes. Her eyes were deep brown and sparkling like a star in the sky. Her hair was like some expensive shiny smooth silk from Italy.

Her skin was smooth like brown cotton and she looked like a beautiful, brown porcelain baby doll. She was born on March 16, 2011 on the exact day she was due and welcomed no less. She was born in complete innocence and she came into my world unknowing; Unaware of the people around her, only that her mommy was there. Her special face helped me through many struggles through the nights and days.

Though her mommy and daddy are not together, she is loved no less. As the years have passed, she has grown from infancy to a toddler. I have watched her personality transition over and over again as she reached the various milestones that children go through between the ages of 0 months to 2 years and 11 months. She will be 3 years old in March and transitioning into a different phase in her life, one that requires mommy let go of the baby and open her mind to an independent little one. Saddened by the need to let go of her infancy/toddler phase, I anticipate the next phase. Often I watch her while she sleeps and wonder – God, how did I receive such a blessing? How can I love anyone any more than I love her —- It must be impossible and I cannot imagine I ever will.

She is my treasure, my diamond, my pot of gold and it is for her that I live.

 McKinzie is my gift from God and her value has no end.

 Always,

Mommy (aka Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful)

2 thoughts on “My Child: As I watch her grow

  1. no,
    you cannot love another
    as you love her,
    and through her,
    Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful transcended life
    to become Mother,
    the name of God to children,
    eternal memory of what is light
    and the source of life.
    Through her,
    you have found the path
    to shed your skin,
    this weakened vessel of flesh
    to become the realization
    of love.

Comments are closed.