Uniquely You (Me): What is your personality type?

 

Currently, I am taking a Interpersonal Communications course and my first assignment involved taking a Behavioral Blends Assessment. I was so pleased with the outcome that I thought I would take the time to share my personality type with you. It is so amazing how a simple assessment of our personality can define so much about who we are. While assessments do not define who we are, they certainly give us some guidance.  The assessment is broken down into 4 different temperaments which are:  D – Dominance, I – Influence, S -Submissive, and C-Compliant (Carbonell, 2008, p.10).  The purpose of sharing this information with you is because it is consistent with the things that I have shared here on my Blog. As a matter fact, yesterday I discussed stepping outside of my comfort zone and challenging myself more. And in taking the assessment today, it explains why I find it a difficult task to step outside of my comfort zone and challenge myself.  

My personal behavioral blend it is classified as Submissive-Compliant (S/C). This particular personality means that I assume that people expect me to be both submissive and competent. Typically, I am passive and people expect that I will be withdrawn versus outgoing. I am considered to be shyer than most but not anti-social. I prefer to like people on an individual basis and most people consider me to be a good friend but I do not seek the “center of attention” spot.  The graph consistently defines me as a personality type that is protective of my family and comfort zone as needed.  I am expected to be stable and steady, as I am. My preference is helping others and my passion lies in discovering new ways of doing things that eventually make life easier for my closest family and those that are less fortunate. I am a leader that has a conservative style. I enjoy pleasing and serving others and I enjoy organizing tasks that work hand and hand to improve processes. Graph 2 defines me as a passive active person. I am more reserved versus out-going and I don’t tend to jump into things or express feelings openly. I prefer to be one-one-one though I am people oriented. People see me as an intelligent and knowledgeable person that recognizes my desire to learn and uncover facts and figures. In summary, I am most popular when it comes to being both people and task-oriented. I am one of the more passive and reserved types that prefer status quo and due my occasional lack of confidence I can be considered insecure. I do not like to disappoint others and considered loyal and committed. I do not have as many friends as I could because I am not a seeker of popularity so my circle of friends is small. I require explanation and information to satisfy my inquisitive way. And lastly, I could succeed more if I would overcome my doubts and attempt the things I never considered possible.

I cannot begin to explain how speechless I am. This is a summary of my assessment and it really and truly pinpoints all the characteristics that are a part of who I am.  Perhaps this is a sign from God, that necessary push to do what I know I need to do to jump outside of my comfort zone sooner instead of later.

If you are interested in taking the assessment, you might want to consider looking up a free assessment under the “DISC” assessment. I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the results of it. As a matter of fact, I challenge you to… be blessed!

Always,

Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

