There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection.

This morning on my drive in to work, I was thinking about my flaws. Wondering why it is so hard for me to accept them all.  So I decided to blog about imperfections. In doing so, I came across the following words of encouragement: “There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. To me, that is the true essence of beauty.”
Steve Maraboli. This is something that I am working on… becoming happy with all of my imperfections and caring less whether the next person embraces them or not. Over time, I hope to love every single flaw of mine: my thighs, arms, love handles or whatever part of me that is a sticking point, but for now, I can say I have overcome the hard time I had with accepting my dark skin.

I realized long ago that physical beauty is not the most important thing about us; it compliments our inner beauty but nonetheless we have our concerns about our “flaws”. I know that there is so much more to “Sonya” than my skin, arms, smile, face, etc. just as you should know there is so much more to you. As beautiful black women, we have many struggles and one of those struggles for many of us, is loving each one of our flaws.

Like snowflakes, no one of us are the same.  We take on a beautiful, unique form and journey through life down the paths that God customized just for us. We are designed the way we are for a purpose. Though some might not see our beauty, it is our responsibility to find our voice, see our beauty and place value to who we are as black women. Sometimes when I am having a bad day, I stand accused of picking out my physical, emotional and personal imperfections which results in self-pity. I am not sure why it is that I do that when I am feeling at my very lowest.  But I have to remind myself by standing in the mirror, looking at myself, taking selfies (laughs) and point out all the things that are beautiful about me like my big almond-shaped eyes, my full lips, and my smile.  It is hard to see the beauty in yourself when you have endured emotional abuse, but I know in my heart of hearts I am a beautiful woman it just takes me giving myself a pep talk to remember that. 

God knows that I am imperfect after all, I am human. But I am beautifully designed. I practice seeing the beauty in me knowing that it will not make me perfect, but decrease my imperfections. There are times in life when you will receive clarity and understanding about life, yourself, spirituality or whatever the case might be and it is in those moments that you should realize no human is perfect. So it is OK to be imperfect and despite our imperfections, we must embrace and accept them otherwise no one else can or will.

Rather you are short, tall, thin, thick, or fuller in figure or dark, light or brown in complexion, you are you because it was destined.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them”.~ Genesis 1:27

Be blessed and remember, we are all imperfect! Love yourself and others will follow.

Always,

Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

