Heaven Rain On Me So That I Can Be The Strong Black Woman….

image

In 2011, I released my first book titled “Heaven Rain On Me”. It is a beautifully flawed book of poetry and narratives. It includes poems about the absence of my father, my family ties, about my unborn child, marriage and divorce, relationships, and friendships. It tells various stories about me from being a child from a single parent home, a habitual dater of losers, my happiness, my sadness, and my experiences with peers, etc.

It is quite ironic that I published my book only two months before the birth of my child and here I am creating a blog that I have grown very passionate about over the course of several days.

I am amazed at how my sweet girl inspires me to be a better person and to accomplish my goals.  With her near my side, I completed my Bachelors in Business Admin,  and in just a few weeks I will be returning to school to get my Masters in Human Services Counseling with a minor in Criminal Justice.  Again, she is my motivation for taking on such a challenge.

When I tell people that I am pursuing my Masters Degree, a full time mommy with no local support (far from family), work full time in a management capacity, working on two creative projects and all on an average of three hours of sleep a night, they wonder how I do it and all I can say is through the grace of God.

I didn’t select this life for me, I never wanted to be a single mother with a child and have her in a broken family but it is what it is and I am making it work and I have no regrets about it. My reason for living is laying right here next to me with her feet in my side. Smiles…. I’m so blessed because I love being someones mom and that someone loves me.

When I completed my book “Heaven Rain On Me” I did so with the motivation of my sweet pea in mind. The book was written as a form of releasing and sharing my experiences and as a way to channel my inner most sacred feelings while sharing them with others. And I would like to think that at least one word helped someone through a hardship and allowed them to see that they are not alone.

I look forward to sharing my next project with you all and I encourage you to stay tuned as I am here to share my world with all that will embrace it.

I am signing out for the night and wish you well!

Good night,
Ms. Darkskinisbeautiful

